Introverts Love Pets, especially INFP

Eckhart Tolle: To simply watch a dog without any kind of mental commentary, just tune in…there’s a link. Something else that’s very important for many people is they realize, consciously or unconsciously, that their dog is not judging them. For some people, it’s the only relationship that they have where there’s no fear and where they realize they are being accepted and not judged. For many people it’s the only relationship they have with another being. That’s a pity, because really they should have deep relationships with humans also, but that’s difficult because every human being has a mind and every human being judges and so people become afraid, they withdraw, they put up barriers. I believe that dogs are keeping millions of people sane who would otherwise become deeply neurotic in our alienated world. So, the dog keeps you in touch with Being—beyond mind—Being, the innermost core. You can look into the eyes of the dog and see that innermost core. There are teachings that say every being is a spark of the divine or God. You can see it sometimes more clearly [in dogs] than in a human being because the human being has the veil of mind, negative emotions, and ego, and plays a role. I believe that dogs fill a vital function in the collective consciousness of humanity. I would call them “the Guardians of Being.” They show us what we have lost and, once we realize that, they can help us in our shift into a deeper state of consciousness. Of course, we don’t want to be confined to only deep relationships with dogs, but they can teach us how to relate deeply to another being and then we can learn to relate deeply to humans also. That has to be the next step.

Learn more:  www.theintrovertzcoach.com/

ABOUT MY PET
“I loved them more than people sometimes.” — Leslie
the sad part was that i was more attached to my pets
then most people even in my family
.” — Evonna

We asked the experts, the introverts themselves, how they felt about their pets in childhood. Here are some of the answers. Please let your introverted child have a pet. [I don’t correct email grammar or spelling because being relaxed is what the internet is all about.]

 

 

NEW
Anonymous, nearly 19
I’ve always had cats, and I’ve always felt like they understand me. I played with the first cat I had like she was a doll, and she cooperated. As I got older, I quit dressing them up and just sat together with them–they were calming. .”

 

 

NEW
Marti S. , age 40
Yes, a siamese cat named Maggie. I loved her more than anything, and fortunately my room was one of her favorite hangouts. When no one else understood, when I felt lonely or frightened, Maggie was always there for me. No one on this earth ever had a more beloved pet.

 

 

 

DEB, age 51
“Yes – we had various cats (from 1 to 4 at any one time) and I was very attached to them. I wrote poems and stories about them and how I felt about them. We lived in the country on an acreage, and there were neighbor dogs who came to visit. I used to confide in my cat all the time–I often felt as if the cat loved me even if no one else did. Today I am married with two kids, and we all love pets. We currently have a cat and a dog.”

 

 

 

ANONYMOUS
“We had a white, deaf cat that was wonderful to play dress up with when I was little. She lived to be 21 years old. Then this cat came by one day and she was pregnant and she had 8 kittens. That was great, I loved it! We could only keep one kitten (he lived to 21) and gave the rest to my cousins on the farm. I felt really sad because none of them made it! Eventually we got another cat and as a teenager a dog. I had various turtles and fish too. At the lake I would catch snakes and frogs.

 

 

 

SHAWN
“Fish are the ultimate pets. They are beautiful and you can eat them.”

 

 

 

EVONNA, age 13
“i had plenty of pets like my horse, dog ,cats, and fish the sad part was that i was more attached to my pets then most people even in my family.”

 

 

 

 

CHRISTINE, age 54
“Yes – a budgerigar called Tony that my aunt gave me and our family dog. I used to take the dog for long, long walks – he was the ideal companion, because I didn’t have to talk to him but didn’t feel as silly as I would have done, just walking on my own..”

 

 

 

ANONYMOUS, almost 40
“Yes, many kitties throughout the years! Helped ease my existence when having to spend time with my birth family (one of the few sources of unconditional love I had then).”

 

 

 

AMY, age 16
“My first dog was named Nikki. She was a month older than me and she basicall mothered me. She alway look out for me and never let anyboddy (including my parents) do any thing that might romotley be violent tword me. That included chaseing my while playing tag.”

 

 

 

 

MICHELLE
“We had a white, deaf cat that was wonderful to play dress up with when I was little. She lived to be 21 years old. Then this cat came by one day and she was pregnant and she had 8 kittens. That was great, I loved it! We could only keep one kitten (he lived to 21) and gave the rest to my cousins on the farm. I felt really sad because none of them made it! Eventually we got another cat and as a teenager a dog. I had various turtles and fish too. At the lake I would catch snakes and frogs.”

 

 

 

TERRY
“I can name every dog I ever owned. The first dog I personally owned (as opposed to family or huntiing dogs) was Pal. There was a series of flood control canals by our house and I used to play in them a lot. One day I found this – creature. The dog had no hair on his body and was covered with open sores. Naturally, this was a problem my mother would fix in short order. So I dragged this starving, pus covered, hideous dog home and proceeded to bath him in the bathtub. My mother was not amused. She came around, however, and several expensive vet bills later the dog Pal became my best pal until the day he died. (His hair did grow back but he was still kind of hideous.)”

 

 

 

 

SARA-ANN
“I always loved animals. When I was 4, my sister found the nicest little dog on the street, and when she asked the local pound if the initial “owners” had reported the dog missing, the pound said yes, but that they were going to leave it at the pound.

So, since my sister couldn’t keep it, she called up our mother and said that she had a late birthday present for me – a very friendly but very timid dog! My parents went and got the dog and she was with us for 17 years!

I also had tons of fish, a few hamsters, and when I was 9 I got my dream of having cats! I picked two kittens from an animal shelter. One died 4 years later (poisoned from roaming yards, we think), and right after that I got a new kitten from some friends who was the cutest, friendliest cat! She and my older cat became best friends in two weeks. She had congenital hepatitis, though, and we kept her healthly for about 9 years, when she died from complications. The surviving cat from 14 years before died of complications from a stroke a few months later.

We were there with all our animals (except the first cat who died) at the times they died (we had to have vets kill them), and they are all buried in the backyard.

Shortly before the last cat died, I found a hamster outside the front door! We ended up keeping her for over two years and she was the friendliest hamster ever! (for the last year, after I moved out of my parent’s house, they kept her)”

 

 

 

 

PATRICIA
“By the time I found my dog, I was so fed up with people, I could hardly stand it but now my dog is the perfect companion. We do everywhere together. I talk to her all the time and am never lonely. Unlike people (extroverts!), dogs don’t lie to you. They are authentic. They don’t pretend to be something they’re not and they don’t pretend to like you and not even know the meaning of the word. With a dog, you know where you stand. I’m not the only one I know who has a dog as a life companion. More and more places let you bring your pet with you when you travel and I love that. We take our vacation together now, too.”


 

 

LAURA
“We usually had two cats and two dogs. The cats were Siamese. Sam, is the pet I loved the most. He was a cat we got when I was 2 or 3 and he lived until I was in my 20’s. I moved away from the home I grew up in to live with my dad in another city when I was 15. I missed that cat more than any of my friends and felt so guilty that I left him and couldn’t explain I was moving and why. My cousin told me he’d died when I was about 22, and I cried so much even though I had assumed he was dead by then. I used to sit with him on my lap in the sun and read to him. And I’d walk out in the orchard and he’d follow along with me. Our pets weren’t allowed in the house, but sometimes my brother and I would sneak the cat in through the window at night.”

 

 

 

MICHELLE
“I at one time raised and bred Siberian Huskies. I loved the nights sitting outside in the dark and hearing their wolf songs.”

 

 

 

 

ANN
“[We had] cats, dogs, fish, gerbils, hamsters and one rabbit. All mine. I loved them more than people sometimes.”

 

 

 

LESLIE
“Over the years, my family had three Great Danes, two cats (very long-lived cats, who to ages 17 and 23), guinea pigs, and a Welsh Pony. There were a couple other dogs and at least three other cats that I only remember vaguely. Also, we had a couple of kennels and we boarded dogs occasionally, so we got to play with those. Right now, I own one very, very spoiled cat.”

ALSO SEE:  http://www.theintrovertzcoach.com/bluepets.html

~ by nancyfenn on December 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
