Dave DeVaughn is Back!

buddy.jpg

BEFUDDLED ABOUT PERSONALITY TYPING?
NOT SURE HOW TO INTERPRET YOUR MBTI?

ASK …

DAVID deVAUGHN is the IntrovertZCoach website type expert [ www.theintrovertzcoach.com ]

David wants everyone to know that he is a civil engineer not a psychologist.  He is not trained to help you with your personal problems nor help you resolve relationship issues.  He is very happy to help you answer questions about how the MBTI and other personality profiles affect your life. 

David is an INFJ introvert and usually scores as a 1 or 5 on Enneagrams.  The Riso-Hudson has him as a 1 w/2 wing.  He thinks this is probably right. He is more action oriented than a true 5. David DeVaughn is an INFJ that got tired of fighting the corporate world and is now an entrepreneur living in Traverse City, Michigan. 

These articles and the advice David shares come from his own personal experience.

Also read David’s articles on:

NETWORKING
NO AVERSION TO CELL PHONES
FRIENDSHIP
AN OPEN LETTER TO INFPS
iNTUITIVE iNTROVERT SITE DOMINANCE
INTJ JOB SEARCH
AN INFP ON THE WARPATH?
NOW, ABOUT THAT EYE CONTACT THING!
TAKING THOSE PERSONALITY TESTS!
HOW CAN I BE AN INFP’S AND “HATE” PEOPLE
DO INTPs HAVE A SLOWER THINKING PROCESS?
INFJ/INTJ CAREER MOVE
FOOTBALL OR LAW FOR AN INTJ?

Here are some answers from David:

3.28.2005 READER EXTROVERT: I am a moderate extravert married to an introvert. Recently we separatedafter 4 yrs of marriage. I like to read responses from your readers tobetter understand my husband. He tells me he still loves me but he can not live with me. He wants to live alone. He is peaceful living alone. I love him very much and like to get back with him. What can I do?

DAVID RESPONDS:

This is a tough one.  I am not so sure that the introvert/extrovert thing is a really a cause of the problem.  I have never had a relationship end because of that, although I doubt that I could live with an ES-type.  My guess is that Mr. Gattu is just tOo introverted to address the real problem because he doesn’t like confrontations.

 

David 

2.15.2005 READER INTP: My main question was about how introverts view people.  Some of the personality type descriptions say that they view emotions as illogical so they completely disregard them.  My question is how can someone disregard something that is so prominent in people after observing them their entire life?  Not being able to interact like an extrovert is one thing, but not having an understanding of them after observing them their entire life just boggles me.I also have one other question that came up recently. Is it normal for an INTP to behave radically different around different people or places? I have a different personality for every person I meet, and it’s never forced and it never comes from a desire to fit in. In fact, I’m pathologically horrible at lying or acting. The best explanation I’ve come up with for it is that I’m trying to put myself in their shoes and understand them, but it still doesn’t make sense considering my poor acting abilities.PS: I came across MBTI personality types during a research for speech class. In a couple days I’m going to give a speech about how introversion is misunderstood by most people and unknowingly discriminated against. When I read more and pinned myself as an INTP, it revealed a lot about me and why I’m like this.

DAVID RESPONDS: ON THE QUESTION OF DISREGARDING SOMETHING SO PROMINENT …

This is a very tough question to answer.  How about an analogy?  I am 52 years old, well-educated (Masters in Civil Engineering).  I am very politically and socially active in the community.  I have lived and worked all around the country.  I have seen the both the good and the bad in my 25+ years in the construction business.  For the last 20 years, I have mainly lived in northern Michigan, which is very conservative politically.  For the life of me, I can’t understand Conservatives.  Their whole philosophy just doesn’t make sense to me.  I live and work with these people regularly but do not understand them.

Another consideration might be the fact that most introverted people are not Intuitive.  They are Sensing types.  S types tend to be similar whether they are Extroverted or Introverted.  The main difference between them is whether they are SP (artisans) or SJ (guardians).   Extroverted Intuitive types relate better to artisans and guardians than do Introverted Intuitives.  This is because their dominant function is extroverted.  These groups make up about 90-95% of the population

On the other hand, most of the people that search the web for personality type knowledge are Introverted Intuitives.  The reason that we have such a hard time understanding (and also conversing with) the rest of the world is simple.  The Sensing types are basically in tune only with what they see right in front of them.  They are not able to understand us because we live in our minds.  We introverts face the world with our auxiliary function, not our dominate function, so we are behind the eight ball a bit anyways in communication.  This is why we write better than we speak.  Intuitive types tend to have a more difficult time expressing to others what they are thinking.  We can explain it – but not in the way that S-types can easily understand.  This is the problem.

DAVID RESPONDS ON THE QUESTION “IS IT NORMAL FOR AN INTP TO BEHAVE RADICALLY DIFFERENT AROUND DIFFERENT PEOPLE OR PLACES?” …

I don’t think this is an INTP thing.  In fact, it is probably just the opposite of what an INTP does.  They tend to want to be different.  Sometimes this is a comfort zone thing, since the Feeling function is their inferior function and also extroverted.  Other times it is because they know that they need to be alone when they think and probably don’t see the need to be social.  My guess is that a true INTP might feel uncomfortable around people.  When that happens, the “shadow” side comes out – ESFJ (talkative, caring,sensitive).  I would also add that no one is their MBTI type all the time.  MBTI only measures how you basically act.

I hope this helps.  Now, I have a question for you?  How do you know that you are an INTP?  Have you ever taken an authorized MBTI test?  If not, you should.  You will learn alot.  As an aside, I will also add that a good friend of mine is sure that he is ENTP when he is really ISFP (I got him to take a certified test, so I know this for sure).

David

1.06.2005 READER INTP:

No I have not taken a certified MTBI test, but I’m fairly certain I don’t need to. I’m in between on some categories so this could go either way on a test like that, but I know where I fall on the spectrum. I realize from some of my questions I might not seem like an INTP. I took a free self-evaluation test at www.boomspeed.com/zsnp/mbti.html

I know I’m introverted, this is probably the most obvious of all. I know I’m intuitive because I tend to be an idealist. I focus on the abstract, theoretical, and the big picture. I know I’m a thinker, even though I possess many feeler traits, because I got those traits after intellectualizing the best way to deal with people. I put everything into logic. As for J/P, I possess a few key traits from both but I don’t fit the INTJ description even in the least.

A test might show that I am an INTJ or an INFP, but when I read those descriptions it becomes so obvious to me that I am not either. I’m good at what INFPs do best as well, but my empathy is more of a learned ability that comes from a lot of hard work.

As for the multiple personalities thing, I don’t think I was quite clear. In groups I am virtually mute and expressionless unless someone asks me for my thoughts. I’m talking mostly about one-on-one encounters, where certain parts of me are exemplified around certain people. For instance, an energetic person will allow me to let out my extroverted qualities, provided that s/he’s willing to share the spotlight. Energetic people tend to want all the attention, so this doesn’t happen much, but when it does then it’s quite natural for me to practically lose my inhibitions and appear to have, almost exclusively, extroverted traits. I revert back to my natural tendencies immediately once the circumstances change again. The majority of the time I have the same personality, except when left alone with another person.

DO YOU HAVE A QUESTION FOR DAVID ABOUT YOUR MBTI INTROVERT TYPE? Email SdAVID TODAY AT dmdevaughn@charter.net

~ by nancyfenn on November 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
