Hermit Loner Talks about Introverts and Noise Pollution


MY SOLUTION TO NOISE POLLUTION

by Hermit Loner

We introverts really hate noise, don’t we?  Noise that’s generated by other people above all.

What noise do you hate most?  For me, one of the most annoying, irritating noises is the sound of someone else’s television.  I HATE that.  I love to read (don’t we all?) and I cannot read if I can hear a TV.  Over the years I have managed to introduce my partner to the joys of NOT watching TV, but her mother who lives upstairs – well, like many elderly folks, she LOVES the TV.  Also like many elderly folks, she is becoming hard of hearing.  You can guess what that means. All evening, every evening, her TV is on, and it’s on loud.

I’ve suffered this for years. It’s not so bad in the summertime when I can get outside (though there are other challenges outside, and that’s for another article!) but even so, sometimes I want to lie on MY OWN COUCH and read without that hellish blare from upstairs.

I found something that works. Maybe it’ll work for you, too. I bought some CDs of nature sounds combined with relaxing music.  The sounds of rain, thunderstorms, insects calling, birds singing, with perhaps some quiet piano in the background.  I load up the CD changer, hit “shuffle” and my living room is filled with soothing sounds of my own choosing, masking the horrid TV sounds from upstairs.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.  I’d prefer silence, but if I can’t have that, this is the next best thing.  If you haven’t tried it, I recommend it.

How do YOU fight noise pollution?  Email me!  Hermit.loner@yahoo.com

~ by nancyfenn on June 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
