African American Introverts

 I’ve always felt ostracized and misunderstood by those in my community. I live in the Deep South. Due to past history of intense racial discrimination particularly in this region, African-Americans in this region tend to define themselves in limited terms: simply by cultural norms and stereotypes. It was always difficult because from the time I was a baby, my parents said I was different. Now I am a twenty-four year old undergraduate student in French Literature and Culture, minoring in the Social Sciences. I’m about to move overseas for a year and eventually plan to pursue international public policy in graduate studies.
   

  Though I’ve had a difficult past, I’m contented and excited about the unconventional road that I’ve taken. I detest mainstream American rap music–though I do enjoy the French rapper MC Solaar and Turkish rapper Ceza. I I am a classical trained pianist who loves opera, Debussy and Latin music. I also am a visual artist who appreciates the beauty of Monet, Van Gogh and Picasso. I adore the literature of Jean Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir and Assia Djebar. I am stimulated by intellectual debate.

Though I have many extroverted acquaintances, my best friend is a young African-American intuitive thinking introvert (INTP/INTJ). We’ve been friends since grade school and I’m thankful to have found someone who understands the struggle of being an iconoclast in a minority community in which our personalities are not so heavily prized. I’m extremely thankful to have her as a friend. I think my family tolerates the fact that I’m an introvert but they don’t truly understand me. I’m extremely nice but unless I feel comfortable with someone, I’m reserved. It’s nice to see that I am not alone…

April
INFJ

For more sharing from African-American introverts, visit:  www.theintrovertzcoach.com/famous_african_american_introverts.html

~ by nancyfenn on June 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
